top of page

Out & About

December 6, 2015

Craft Fair Cherryfield

On December 12 there will be a Craft Fair at the American Legion Hall from 9 to4 p.m. in Cherryfield to benefit local veterans. There will be raffles on the hour and one of them is 100 gallons of oil that has been donated. Local crafters are needed; to reserve a table or donate items call R Amy Moore at 546-1405.

Senior Citizen Banquet

The Addison Volunteer Fire Department Auxiliary will be having their 33rd Annual Senior Citizen Banquet on Saturday December 12, 5:00 p.m, at the Addison Town Hall. Any senior citizen residents over 60 years of Addison are invited to this. Bring a gift to get a gift.

Columbia SANTA’S COMING!!!!

Bring the family and make some Holiday memories!!! The Epping Volunteer Fire Association will be hosting “SANTA’S WINTER WONDERLAND” on Sunday, December 13, 2015 from 2:00-5:00pm at the Columbia Town Hall, 106 Epping Road, Columbia. There will be a Sing-a-Long with Mindy Reynolds, Holiday pictures by “The Fire Chicks Photography”, homemade refreshments and of course a visit by SANTA!!!!!!!! There is also a fundraising raffle with: 1st prize ** a Child’s 12V motorized Fire Engine; 2nd prize **One night for two adults at the Red Barn Motel & a $25.00 gift certificate to 44 North in Milbridge and 3rd prize**A Christmas Ham Dinner and all the fixins!!!!!!!!! See an Epping Volunteer Fire Fighter for tickets or call 483-2036 or 2023.

OUT AND ABOUT

It is that time of the year everyone is getting their Christmas shopping done, putting up and decorating their fake or real Christmas tree. I on the other hand make my little tree with fresh picked evergreens’ from my own little trees that are growing out back. I use a special form and put boughs into it and then trim it a bit so it will look beautiful. I only put on blue lights, blue bulbs and white crochet snowflakes made for me from a departed friend. Of course I have to have a real bird nest on it and a couple of other items that are special.

I enjoy putting out my Santa Clause collection and my Angels that I have. I put garland over the doors and other little things all around the living, dining room and in my entrance room.

Outside I have a lovely porch that I can decorate for the season and I also make arrangements on the side deck for my chairs. The best thing is the Christmas movies on the television and listening to Christmas music the rest of the time.

I really enjoyed looking at all of the Christmas collections on display at the Cherryfield Academy on Saturday afternoon. The children were up stairs in the hall having fun with activities that were made just for them.

On Wednesday I had a full day of meetings. I started out in Ellsworth and then traveled to the three in Bangor and then finished up the afternoon with one that was held at the Crocker House in Hancock with a lovely dinner thrown in just to attend. I had an enjoyable meal and great conversation with the folks that were sitting at the same table I was. One couple was from Ellsworth, one from Franklin and the other one was from South Addison. I think I was well educated in taking in all of the information that I got all day from my meetings.. It was well worth my time to go to all of them.

On Friday evening I drove the Narraguagus Lady Knights.to Jonesport for their game where they beat the royals.

On Sunday morning Sherri Paul and I went to see the Convoy of Wreaths Across America that were leaving Harrington on their trip to Arlington Cemetery. There were State Police, Deputy Sheriff Units, Ambulances, Fire Trucks and Motorcycle Units of Veterans. The sound of sirens and the flashing of the red and blue lights was seen and heard by all that came out to show their support for this event. God Bless America and to all the Veterans that gave their service and their life to keep us free.

Congratulations to Philip Worcester of Columbia Falls on finally getting his deer. He was lucky in this after all that has happened to him in the past year. First getting run over by a 4-wheeler, having a moose attack and run over him and to top it off this past spring having a tree take his knee out. I wonder what the future has in store for him.

The Downeast Table of Plenty in Cherryfield had a game feed for the meal on Sunday. There were lots of dishes made from moose, deer, Alaskan salmon, mackerel, bake beans, rice dishes, salad and lots of sweets. This was their fifth year celebration of having these dinners every Sunday.

I am sending condolences and sympathy to my former sister in law Debra Worcester as her husband Greg Burris passed away on November 30 at his home in Kempner, Texas. He will be missed by his family and extended family.


FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page